Why Star Wars Revenge Of The Sith was my biggest anti-climax in film history..

Darth Vader

Image via Wikipedia

Welcome back to the blog! Haven’t been on here in a while. University work and my job have just taken up all my time. I had a conversation at my uni today about how good Star Wars Revenge Of The Sith is, and I’ve been inspired to do a post about my view on the matter.

Firstly, I’m not suggesting Revenge Of The Sith is a bad film. Not by any means. I actually think the film is by far the best film of the prequel trilogy. That’s not saying much considering how awful The Phantom Menace and Attack Of The Clones were (Jar Jar Blinks anyone?) but the film definitely resembles the quality that made the original trilogy so great.

What bothers me is how rushed the film felt. When we were first given an insight in episode 4 about the Jedi being extinct I imagined a mass exodus, which would have been epic in scope and atmosphere on the big screen. What we got was a few scenes were several important Jedi’s were killed and the awful scene with the dead ‘younglings’, who despite being killed by a lightsabre, show no evidence of any wound. That’s probably to retain the 12a rating but still it just looked shabby and more like a game of sleeping lions.

Also how in the world did Leia remember beautiful images of her mother when she saw her for all but five seconds? If that’s the case then why didn’t Luke remember her?

My last point will be about the training Obi-Wan receives that allows him to ‘become one with the force’ and live beyond death. I learnt the basis of this from reading some of the Star Wars expanded universe literature. How the causal audience was meant to work out that’s why Obi-Wan disappears in episode 4 is beyond me.

Anyway, these are just a few reasons why I think the film felt rushed. I could go on but I don’t want this entry to be too daunting and put people off.

Next time I’ll be doing something on the BIG flaw in The Lord Of The Rings films.

See ya then

Leave a Reply

