I just want to say I love this film

Broche "Moulin Rouge"

Image by PENDIENTERA (Luz) via Flickr

Welcome back to the blog! I realise for the past week or so I’ve been away. I’ve been writing posts for a group blog known as Nonagon, which you can totally follow here; http://anonagon.wordpress.com/

Be sure to check out my review of The Adjustment Bureau as well as my opinion on the future of comic book movies!

For now however, after re-watching it for the tenth time, I have to say just how good this film is: Moulin Rouge

I love Baz Luhrmann‘s work, I even loved his re imagining of Romeo and Juliet in 1996. Moulin Rouge however was something special. I’m a big fan of musicals and this film takes that genre and completely revolutionizes the concept.  Moulin Rouge is an amazing display of art, poetry, opera and cultural brilliance!

Amazing performances from Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman make for some of the best on screen chemistry I’ve ever seen in a film. McGregor’s performance as a writer named Christian oozes sympathy from the audience for how innocent and genuine the character is, where as Kidman’s portray of courtesan Satine highlights how tragic love can be.

The musical performances were outstanding, particularly Roxanne, where the films gives us some of the best cinema opera of all time.

Simply put Moulin Rouge is an amazing film and definitely earns a spot in my top ten.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

